“Whispered words of wisdom…”

The familiar piano introduction played over the chapel’s sound system and drowned out the sniffling student body. I sat on the floor and convulsed with silent sobs. I didn’t know the girl on my left or the girl on my right, but that hardly mattered. We shared flames, shared touches, shared eye contact.

We shared voices.

“When I find myself in times of trouble, Mother Mary comes to me.”

I sang. I stumbled over the words. I bit my lip to calm its trembling. I looked down at the ground instead of looking at the many people whom I had seen around campus. Many people whom I had seen plenty of times, yet only a small handful had names to me. To me. 

“Speaking words of wisdom. Let it be.” 

Let it be. Let it be. Let it be.

Because, sometimes, there really is nothing you can do. Everything happens for a reason. One of our brothers died that weekend and there is no explanation. Why did this happen? I don’t know. Let it be.

Be nice.

Pay it forward.

Fucking look at me when I walk by.

I have a name, you have a name, we all have names. We all have a purpose, regardless of major, religion, race… Maybe our brother’s purpose was to bring us to the chapel that evening to sing one powerful song together. Put down your books, take out your headphones, turn your phone off. Sing this song with me. Let’s sing this song together.

“Let it be, let it be, let it be.” 

I got up, put my jacket on, smiled at a friend and left the chapel. I trudged through the snow alone, but another

Recognize the color of those feathers? (Hint hint, look at my blog design.)
Recognize the color of those feathers? (Hint hint, look at my blog design.)

friend caught up with me. She, another Emily, cried. We held each other. Then I went home and cried some more.

I’ll never forget the time we all sang “Let It Be” by The Beatles together in the chapel.

I don’t want to forget it.

I won’t forget it.

I won’t forget it.

Leave a Reply

