Summer lovin’, happened so fast

He reached into his black backpack and pulled out a plain hemp bracelet. I wore it from that day on for several months. It was a reminder that, like the song in An American Tail, someone was thinking of me.

I'm the yellow one.
Professional. Plus the bracelet. : )

I wore it on my right wrist and never took it off. It went with me in the pool, in the shower. It switched wrists when, at my very corporate summer internship, I shook hands with a colleague and could feel the damp hemp against my wrist, meaning he probably could feel it on his, too. Whoops.

I wore it for the times he played guitar and sang to me, played soccer with me, went for walks with me and ran down the hill near his house with me. We had a wonderful summer together.

A couple of days before I was to leave for school, I noticed it wasn’t on my left wrist anymore. And I couldn’t find it anywhere. At that point, things in our relationship hadn’t been going the greatest. I took it as an omen.

While packing for school the next day, I found it in my laundry basket and breathed a sigh of relief. I eagerly put it back on my wrist and went on packing.

…he broke up with me on Labor Day. I sobbed and sobbed and he held me. But then we kissed and went our separate ways and I figured I’d never see him again.

But –– surprise! –– just like the bracelet situation where I found it the next day, he called me the next night and wanted to give it another go. So we did.

But, again, things didn’t go so well. So when he called me last week after I got home from Los Angeles (which I should probably write about on here at some point) and said he couldn’t let our relationship go any further, I let out a sigh, smiled and agreed with him. I knew it was only a matter of time before we broke up again.

We both hung up and I went to the bathroom to do my nightly routine.

After I had brushed my teeth and washed my face, I noticed that I didn’t feel a damp bracelet against my left wrist. The bracelet was already gone. I paused for a moment and tried to think. Where could it be? 

I looked at pictures from our L.A. trip and realized that, not only was it gone, it hadn’t been on my wrist for almost the entirety of our trip.

I never even noticed. And I’ll never find it.

I’m taking it as an omen.

Leave a Reply

