Another BlackByrd

WordPress allows its bloggers to view their sites’ statistics. I sit back and watch, fascinated as my view count climbs higher and higher. I can see what Google searches yield clicks to my blog and I can see how many times a post has been viewed.

Many viewers find my blog after searching “Blackbyrd ‘I Feel Good Today’ lyrics.” They end up finding a post I wrote four years ago, featuring Asher Roth’s song “I Love College.” But after these constant views from that one search, I knew I needed to investigate. Consider my curiosity piqued.

It turns out that BlackByrd is a band comprised of three women from Cape Town, South Africa. And they’re brilliant. (They also, incidentally, named their band after “Blackbird” by The Beatles –– where do you think my name came from?!?)

All three of them play guitar; all three of them sing. Their lyrics are full of strong ideas and messages to empower women.

I’m hooked.

Especially when I listened to their song “All For Me.”

I feel like I could have written the song myself.

You every morning, you every night
You’re in my soul, in my heart, my life
I was a dreamer, you had the plan
Now you walking away and I don’t understand

But how come it feels ok to know I’ll never see you again
How come you never ever tried

I’m doing it all for me
Taking the chance to find the real me
I’m letting you go 1 4 3
I gotta do this alone though I’m scared to the bone
I’m not running away I’m facing my fears
This time I gotta learn to dry my own tears
Doing it all for me, without you baby
All for me

I’m hoping that I find the strength to move on
When right by your side I thought I would belong
I guess I’m not perfect but I’ma be strong
Cos this is the moment and I want it all so….

How come it feels ok to know il never see you again
How come you never ever cried

I’m doing it all for me
Taking the chance to find the real me
I’m letting you go 1 4 3
I gotta do this alone though I’m scared to the bone
I’m not running away I’m facing my fears
This time I’m gonna learn to dry my own tears
Doing it all for me, without you baby
All for me

Without you I’m learning that I’m incomplete
Without you there’s so much more I want to be
Without you there’s no us, without you it’s just me
Without you it’s all up to me
yeah….

I’m doing it all for me
Taking the chance to find the real me
I’m letting you go 1 4 3
I gotta do this alone and I’m scared to the bone
I’m not running away I’m facing my fears
This time I’m gonna learn to dry my own tears
Doing it all for me, without you baby
All for me.

Leave a Reply

