Dress your best for success

“Dress for the job you want, not the one you have,” my mom has drilled into my head.

It applies in everyone’s daily life; not just the working man or woman’s.

I am a student right now. It could be considered my “job,” I guess. But it’s not the one I want, per se. College is the staircase leading to where I’m going. I want to graduate and immediately find a job. Preferably one with respectable pay. (A girl can dream, right?)

Photo on 12-7-11 at 10.26 AM
Bright colors are definitely my style.

My clothing reflects my attitude. I try to mix in cute skirts, cardigans, dresses and boots for a young, professional look. Though I hated tights when my mother made me wear them to Sunday School, I love them now. They cozy up my legs during the colder months in Western New York. Heels are saved for days when I don’t feel the best; they give me a different pain to focus on.

I receive a lot of compliments on my outfits. And, let’s admit it, receiving a compliment makes everyone feel good. Wearing nice-looking clothing on days when you feel down is guaranteed to make you feel better. Countless compliments will help you keep your chin up. Tucking your sweatpants into your Uggs just doesn’t have the same effect.

I save the yoga pants and tee shirts for hungover Saturday mornings and Sundays full of homework. Those situations call for comfort. Attending classes calls for one to have some class. I like to make a good impression to professors, especially those I have never met before. Everyone should. We are all paying a lot of money to sit in those classrooms – might as well do it right.

There isn’t a dress code where my mom works. Still, she gets up every morning and showers, dabs on makeup, does her hair and pulls on a nice pantsuit, or a cute skirt and cardigan.

There isn’t a dress code at school, but I like to pretend there is. I’m dressing for the job I want.

 

Leave a Reply

