Think before you speak

It isn’t until something happens to you, your family or someone you know that you realize just how much words can hurt. Do you remember “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me?” I personally learned that saying from a Big Comfy Couch episode. Loonette The Clown and her dolly, Molly, taught me this lesson. I have since learned that it is not always true.

I have a mouth like a sailor, but I steer clear of certain words and insults. I try really hard not to say words like “retard” or “retarded” to call or describe someone. If someone in my company utters these, I feel instant embarrassment. Who knows who heard and if he/she takes offense to that? You never know.

We live in a world full of insensitive, selfish people. The next time you jokingly call someone “brain damaged,” think of a different adjective.

Think about whose company you’re in before you call someone “retarded” or “handicapped.”

And the next time you slur “shoot me” or “I’m going to kill myself,” take a moment to reflect. Maybe someone in your group of friends has had to deal with a bonafide situation like that with someone close to them.

Throw those words around like you won’t insult people. Just don’t be surprised when someone is deeply affected.

Leave a Reply

