Censoring thoughts

I have “Sonnet” by C.B. Trail taped on the back inside cover of my poetry notebook. This one by e.e. cummings may need to be added.

i like my body when it is with your
body. It is so quite a new thing.
Muscles better and nerves more.
i like your body. i like what it does,
i like its hows. i like to feel the spine
of your body and its bones, and the trembling
-firm-smooth ness and which I will
again and again and again
kiss, i like kissing this and that of you,
i like, slowly stroking the, shocking fuzz
of your electric fur, and what-is-it comes
over parting flesh…And eyes big love-crumbs,

and possibly i like the thrill
of under me you quite so new

 
 

Poems like this one remind me not to hold back. It’s okay to write exactly what I’m thinking, no matter what genre, movie rating or reaction the topic might receive. Things about other people can be censored, but my thoughts shouldn’t be. They should be raw, real, beautiful.

Raw, real and beautiful like this piece by e.e. cummings and my favorite poem by C.B. Trail.

Leave a Reply

