The squeshed bug

I don’t think it’s possible to outgrow sidewalk chalk. It doesn’t matter what age or gender you are. It’s something for children, but kids in their upper teens can enjoy it, too (ahem, like myself).

For our first Easter together, I put a basket together for Robby. I put a pack of Crayola sidewalk chalk in the basket and Robby thought it was odd. I think he thought we were a little too old for it (he was 15, I was 16). Then, one beautiful day in July, I took the chalk and started drawing. A zoo erupted from the chalk:

Robby even joined in after awhile. We’ve done plenty of chalk drawings since then. He drew a house for us up on a mountain, and I drew ants below it (derived from Ingrid Michaelson’s song “You and I,” which is one of our favorites). We’re not the most talented chalk artists, but we have fun with it.

Today brought warm(er) weather, forcing us outside to ride our bikes, sit on the porch and, finally, break out the chalk and dust it off. I decided to draw my car (Bubbles the Bug…she might need her own page on Blackbyrd pretty soon…). While I was drawing the car, Robby drew a comet just above Bubbles, ready to crush her. Then he wrote “= SQUESHED BUG” (‘e’ in “squashed” instead of an ‘a’ – I got a kick out of it).

It turned into a war with chalk. He drew different ways to destroy the Bug (one even included a fly swatter), and I came up with ways to fix her up again. It got way out of hand when I “set fire” to his bike by drawing flames on the ground all around it. His comeback was by drowning MY bike.

You’re never too old to have fun with sidewalk chalk.  Just remember that.

Me, sitting in my Bug
Leave a Reply

