Who gives a rat’s ass?

Mr Griffith: “I don’t know what your generation’s fascination is with documenting your every thought… but I can assure you, they’re not all diamonds. ‘Roman is having an OK day, and bought a Coke Zero at the gas station. Raise the roof.’ Who gives a rat’s ass?” ~Easy A

I used to think so too, Mr. Griffith.

I created my Twitter account when I was 16. I used it to inform my parents of my location on the way to Disney World with a friend and her family. After that, I only texted the “Twitter” contact on my phone when I was shopping on my own. People bugged me. I tweeted.

After my brother told me my tweets were annoying and negative, I went through and deleted almost all of them. For almost two years, I tweeted here and there, but did not make tweeting or checking my Twitter a priority.

I started tweeting more as a sort of new year’s resolution. Thirty days ago, I had 200-something tweets. Thirty days and 300+ thoughts later, I have more than doubled my tweet count.

So, though I don’t necessarily agree with expressing every thought, I feel it’s okay to tweet and let almost all of my family see it at once. It’s easier to text Twitter once with my race time than to text 6 people and receive a plethora of responses.

Not all of my thoughts are gems, but those I follow make up for that at times. Some of what’s tweeted provides me with something interesting to read or ponder. It’s thanks to Twitter that I even knew about Joe Paterno’s mistaken death, and then the real one that followed.

I feel inclined to learn more about social media, hence my involvement with Twitter.

So, who gives a rat’s ass? Everyone who follows me on Twitter is following me for some reason. I’d like to think I have good thoughts here and there.

Leave a Reply

