Good riddance, 2011

Dear 2011,

You have been the toughest year of my life (thus far). There are many more to come, but as of now, you’ve sucked the most.

You started off shitty and barely improved. You are present on countless headstones and funeral programs. It wasn’t often that I saw you written down on something pleasant.

People were in the hospital. People died. Someone is still in the hospital. You, in all of your unfairness, knocked them down, one by one.

I had the worst track season of my life. For the first time, I did not improve any of my times. I went from running 4:40s in the 1500m to 5:10s. Consistently. My fastest 800m in 2011 was a 2:24. Not good. How disappointing.

Friends disappointed me, and I lost them. I still think about how things could be different. But they’re not.

I went off to college and had a fun time around friends, and a miserable time in my own dorm room for a good 2 months. (That has since changed.)

But, though I hate you, you weren’t completely bad.

Without you, and how miserable you made my family and me, we would not have little JuneBug, the puppy that melts my heart each time I glance at her.

I can bitch about all of the shit that has happened to me and around me this year, but in the end, I’m healthy and my family, for the most part, is healthy as well.

Here’s to hoping 2012 is better than you, 2011. Even though its future looks somewhat bleak (according to crazy people), it still looks nicer than you.

 

Sincerely,

Emily

Leave a Reply

