Thank you, Papa

A year ago today, Papa signed the check I needed to buy my dream car. Papa was a frugal man. It took a lot of guts for me to go over to their house a year ago to ask for the money. I backed up my point, explained how getting this Bug would mean getting my dream car, and left. When I got home, I cried my eyes out and could not believe I had asked for so much from them.

They took a little while to think about it, but then they made their decision.

“I don’t know where I’ll be in June,” Papa said as he handed me the check.

Papa died on May 19, 2011. He never got to see June.

I didn’t know that by June, Papa would be up in heaven. I just saw this cute little purply/blue Punch Bug and thought it would be fun to have. Not many people get their dream car as their first vehicle, but I did. All thanks to Grandma and Papa.

I treat Bubbles like gold. She is washed and waxed regularly and I treat her leather seats once a month. I feel like Bubbles is the piece of Papa that I get to have and keep and I will have her for as long as I live.

One of my biggest regrets is that I did not get a picture with Papa and Bubbles. I feel better when I think that he was able to see me driving around in her and got to ride in her plenty of times. I find comfort in that.

Thank you, Grandma and Papa for helping me get Bubbles. Thank you, Bubbles for taking me to and from.

 

Leave a Reply

