18

My birthday is coming up in a few weeks. My eighteenth birthday.

Some major happenings in my life are downplayed by the fact that my brothers have “been there, done that.” Birthdays are one of them.

To me, eighteen was an unobtainable age. I saw Jordan reach eighteen. Trevor followed. Adam was next. In my eyes, I felt I would never reach that number. It just sounds so old to me. Now, suddenly, college students are close to my age. The seniors do not seem as old as they used to for me when Jordan was a senior in college. It’s mind boggling to me that I am already this old.

Sometimes I drive Bubbles and think, Wait, I’m too young to drive! How did this happen? Then I remember. And that makes me realize that time has flown.

In the words of Dr. Theodore Seuss Geisel, “My goodness how the time has flewn, how did it get so late so soon?”

I don’t think anyone will ever have an answer to his question. I sure as hell won’t.

After this big eighteenth birthday of mine, the next big one will be when I turn twenty. I will no longer be a teenager. Based on how fast time has traveled for me recently, I have no doubt that twenty will come here before I know it and I will look back on this post and laugh.

One thought on “18

Leave a Reply

