The summer of many job applications and no job

See title above. That’s what I am calling this summer.

I really did try to get a job this summer. I applied early and even interviewed for one way back in May. I thought I was a shoe-in for that job (with my town’s summer recreation program), but then it never happened. Maybe I went in too confident; maybe I just wasn’t the right person. I’ll never know because my potential employers didn’t even have the courtesy to call and say I did not get the job. They let it stew for over a month. It was when the rec program started that I knew I must not have been hired. I will never apply there again.

I applied to be a waitress at a restaurant down the road. I called over five times to check on my application, but each time was told that the manager I needed to speak to was not in. I shouldn’t have given up, but I did. By mid-July, I figured it was not even worth it to keep trying.

My local Library received an application from me. I included my student transcript, my resumé and a cover letter. This was going above and beyond the requirements. I called a week later to discover that the position I applied for had been filled the day before. The director of the Library sounded sincere when she apologized. I even received a call from her recently: she had a job to offer me starting in September. I apologized this time; I’ll be at college then.

Finally, Valu (where Robby now works) received an application with my name on it. They had told me they might be hiring. I guess it turns out that they weren’t.

It isn’t all bad. I do have a job, albeit one that isn’t regular. I write for my town’s Penny Saver and receive nice-ish paychecks from it. However, I would have liked to have a little more money in my pocket.

The summer of many job applications and no job to speak of ends in less than two weeks. I tried. I guess I will have to try harder next May.

 

Leave a Reply

