What I found out this past week

Don’t panic, I don’t have a life-threatening disease or anything. There are just a few things that came to my attention in the past week. These things are quite unimportant and very girly, so if you don’t wish to read on, I don’t blame you.

To start with, I have these two girlfriends. We’ve become quite close over the past school year, but sometimes I desperately need my own space. I’m not used to having such girly friends – I grew up in a house full of boys and my best friend is completely down-to-earth and is super athletic, like me. These two drive me insane sometimes. One of them pulled out a brand-new bottle of Victoria’s Secret fragrance and complained, “They don’t carry my favorite anymore so I had to get this one!” I asked her how much she paid for this new bottle of body spray, and she replied with “only $25.” Only $25. ONLY $25?!?!?!?!?!?!? I don’t know about you, but $25 is a lot of money to spend on one bottle of body spray. Maybe this is just because I have a problem where I don’t spend money on myself ever, but I’d rather save the $25, put on the deodorant my parents buy me, and call it a day. This is what brings me to what I found out this past week: I’m the only teenage girl in the world that doesn’t put on some sort of body spray in the morning. You know how sometimes, a girl will walk by and a few seconds later, the smell of their perfume hits you? Yeah, that’s never me. The bottles of body spray that I have in my drawer are all gifts from friends – I received all of the bottles as Christmas gifts in middle school (and the bottles are still quite full). It’s partly that I don’t want to spend the money, but it’s also because I have a super sensitive nose and strong smells give me headaches – I’d rather smell like my Secret deodorant all day than walk around smelling fantastic and feeling the pain of the headache.

I’m one of the few girls in the world that thinks that tanning is stupid (and this applies to all forms of tanning that are here these days). In the summer, I’d rather be running around and jumping into the pool than lying in the sun, sipping from a glass of lemonade. I don’t lay down in the sun with the goal of reaching that so sought-after glaze of brown. I don’t give a rat’s ass about that. That’s why girls that tan – even in the winter – drive me INSANE. The girls that spend their time in cancer beds are just asking for it. And the girls that tan so they don’t look too white in their dress for a dance are stupid – the dance is over in one night and they’re left looking really stupid in the middle of winter. Spray tanning is safer, but still stupid. Again, it’s a waste of money. I don’t see why having darker skin is such a big deal. I’m probably the whitest white girl you will ever see, and I love my milky skin. It’s natural and hasn’t been tampered with. Some girls like the healthy glow, but I think it’s healthier to sport the skin you’re in as is.

One thought on “What I found out this past week

Leave a Reply

