Cowboy Casanova

I like country music, not going to lie. Carrie Underwood is one of my favorite artists. My best friend Katie is a country music addict and a real farm girl, and she sort of made me see the light when it comes to twangy country music. I don’t like all of it, but quite a bit of it is okay. All of the songs have meaning to them. Not every genre can say that.

So, for our school’s talent show (known as G-Town Showdown), Katie and my other friend Alex were stuck on having me sing Carrie Underwood’s “Cowboy Casanova” and they were planning on making up a dance to do in the background. I never thought we would put it together. A week before G-Town tryouts, I had them up to my house and we tried to figure out how it could work. In the end, we decided we needed some other people to join our gang. We needed boys.

So, our hunt began for a cowboy. We originally only wanted one. We bugged quite a few people, but none of them wanted to do it. So, we tried out with their dance and my singing and told our principal (who had to oversee the tryouts) that we were planning on adding a couple of cowboys into the act for the show. He had no problem with that.

We managed to nab one guy to be a cowboy (our friend Jarred). Then, our friend Cody wanted in, and we figured we could use another cowboy and that would be fine. Then, we realized that we each would need one or we would only be able to have two (none of us wanted to be the one without the cowboy if there could only be two). At the last minute, before the rehearsal for the talent show the day before, we added in our last cowboy (Marcus) and they learned the dance right before we were to go onstage for the rehearsal.

The next day at school, our cowboys showed up decked out in cowboy gear; they seriously went all out and we were pleased that they were so into it.

We performed. I wore my favorite dress (slinky black with a zipper down the front. Yes, the front).

The audience loved it. Many of them know I can write, but not very many of them knew that I could sing. I gained the respect of even more people.

We didn’t win (only got Honorable Mention, whatever the hell that means).

So many people told us afterward that we should have won. I agree with those people.

Here’s the performance (wait for the introduction of our group known as “EKA” [Emily, Katie, Alex – fyi we didn’t come up with that name – the hosts did]):

Leave a Reply

