The underwater world

Have you ever felt so at peace, you wish you could melt away? That’s how I feel when I’m underwater. The only problem is that it doesn’t last, and for obvious reasons.

The other day, we went swimming in my aunt’s pool. It was crystal clear and beautiful. After awhile of fooling around with my little cousins, I opted for the peace of the underwater world. I left Robby to fend off little Aidan and traveled underwater as often as I could. I held my breath as long as I could and opened my eyes to see everyone swimming around. It was amazing that there was a world up at the top of the water, but I couldn’t hear a thing. Sometimes, there is such bliss in having your ears filled with water.

When I was little, I used to pretend I was a mermaid in our pool. I still do that. I love swimming around and pretending that the water is my home. I stay underwater for as long as I can before I have a desperate need for the oxygen I breathe so freely on the surface.

At my aunt’s, I just wished I could stay underwater forever. It wasn’t that I didn’t like the company I was in; the water was just so beautiful and inviting. I wish I could be a mermaid. I’m back to my childhood where I would long to swim away with Ariel and Flounder and stay underwater forever.

Leave a Reply

