Everything is connected and beautiful

I am floating up high in the sky on a cloud right now. Everything in my life is just going so smoothly, despite the level of stress involved.

For track, I reset my school record in the 1500 from a 4:54.90 to a 4:53.95 on Friday when I won the entire race and was declared “Event Champion.” (One second may not seem like a lot, but when it comes to track, timing is everything.)

I am mentioned on a Wikipedia page. Yep. Someone read my review on Paramore’s album “brand new eyes” that I had published in The Buffalo News and they posted what I had to say about the song “Ignorance.” Type “Ignorance (song)” into the Wikipedia search bar and scroll down ’til you see the name Emily. It’s me. I was amazed when I saw it. I am mentioned among names from The New York Times and Alternative Press magazine. My name is definitely getting out there thanks to the Internet.

I have the most awesome boyfriend. He’s one of the few people in this world that can actually make me smile. He cheers me up when I’m down and I can’t look at him and not smile. It’s just not possible. He came to my track meet yesterday that we held in the freezing cold rain. I love that he loves me.

I know that I am doomed for my Trigonometry and Chemistry regents that I will take in mid-June, so there’s no use stressing out over those (though I’m sure that once they are upon me I’ll be studying like a madwoman).

Tomorrow I am barely going to be in school at all. I have a yearbook meeting from periods 1-4, though I have to skip out early to make it to the orthodontist by 10:00AM. I don’t mind going there anymore. They might come off tomorrow, but if they don’t they are definitely coming off on June 2nd. Just the thought of smiling with no braces covering my teeth makes me smile like an idiot. I plan on returning to school, but hopefully will miss most of Chemistry. I cannot stand that class and the lack of organization it represents.

I had a great day that was made even better as soon as I checked my email. I got an email from the editor of The Buffalo News NeXt and she informed me that I achieved 3rd place in some Newspaper Association of America Foundation Young Reader Awards for an article I wrote way back in September. I get an actual award and when I ran into my parents’ room to tell them, my mom mentioned that I can tack that onto awards I’ve received for college apps and my resume. I couldn’t be happier. Everything is connected and beautiful.

3 thoughts on “Everything is connected and beautiful

    1. I’m not mentioned IN AP 🙂 lol. I’m mentioned right next to that one guy that’s the main CD reviewer guy person haha I can’t remember his name. I think it’s great that I’m even mentioned next to someone like that! You have to check the Wikipedia page. 🙂

  1. I just checked the page. I still have to say I am really, really jealous of you! But cheers to you! *HIGH FIVE*

Leave a Reply

