I may switch off and go in a daydream

A week ago, I was riding through Florida, then Georgia and finally the Carolinas. The temperature stayed consistent all the way up to Charlotte where we spent the night. It was 74-degrees out when we left. Now, a week later, I’m sitting in my bedroom brightened by the flurry of white snow flying around outside. I miss the warmth of Florida, but I love being home and in my own room.

It’s been a great, albeit long, week. That sweet boy I had been writing about constantly before I went off to Florida became my new boyfriend and then a few days later, my prom date. I barely got anything done this week because he was up at my house nearly every night. It was a week of late nights this week, scrounging to get everything done, but it was all worth it. And, I always managed to get everything done.

I got rid of my stupid bangs this week. I mean yeah, I think I look good with them, possibly even older, but they were just a pain in the neck to get ready in the morning. And, on days when they didn’t cooperate, I was miserable. Track starts in a week, and I don’t want them to get in the way. That’s that.

I decided not to even bother with Girls State. I got the sheets with the information about it and was so gung ho and ready to do it, and then yesterday, I just decided I wasn’t interested. It would take a whole week out of my summer; a week that will probably hold the dates of many graduation parties I would miss. The idea of a week spent running a “government” or whatever wasn’t appealing. Plus, I hate girls, and that doesn’t help, right? Sure, it would look great on my resume, but who would I be kidding? I’m not interested in that shit and I never will be.

This week has been full of random conversations with random people. I think that maybe I’m broadening my horizons and possibly even making a few new friends (which is weird, in our small town). I have been talking a lot more to people that in the beginning year I’d claimed I had hated (course, keep in mind that I was miserable for the entire first half of this school year). I’m finding that I love the way life’s going right now.

I cannot wait for prom. I’m going to be a flapper no matter what our prom theme is. I’m going with someone I know I’ll have a good time with, and that is so comforting.

3 thoughts on “I may switch off and go in a daydream

  1. I love this post! I’ve been reading all about your trip to Florida and I love how it ended. =) (I hope that makes sense).
    That’s great that you’re broadening your horizons and congrats on the new boyfriend and prom date. =) That’s too sweet! Anyway, I hope that everything continues to go good and as long as you have something new and interesting to post, (which you always do!) I will definitely keep reading.

    =)

  2. Noelle! 😀 So great to hear from you!
    I was regularly checking your blog when you stopped posting (last time I checked, there were a couple of poems posing as the last posts).
    I’ll try and provide more interesting things to read! Thanks for reading them! 🙂
    And keep writing!

    1. Why, you’re very welcome! =D
      I have so many things I’d like to write about and things have been hectic, but don’t fret, I’m going to be posting a lot more soon. You always write interesting things and I love reading.
      Very welcome. =D

Leave a Reply

