2/17/10 (Evening)

Wow, complete change of plans. The weather today wasn’t what we thought it would be, so we donned our jeans and hoodies and headed out into the 50-degree weather. We ventured over to Hollywood Studios instead of Animal Kingdom, and we had a blast.

The first thing we did was head over to the Tower of Terror and got Fast Passes. Then, Taylor and I went over to the Rock ‘n’ Rollercoaster (based entirely off of the band Aerosmith) and got into the stand-by line that, at the time, said it would take 60 minutes to get to the front of the line. As we inched closer to where it shows how long it takes to get to the front of the line, the time jumped from 60 minutes to 100 minutes. Taylor wanted to get out of the line, but I said “no, we’re here and we’re gonna do it!” We watched people leave the line and I joked about how I wanted to yell “FOOLS!” at them like Maleficent does in the Kingdom Hearts game both of us have been playing obsessively.

We waited and waited and waited. Tay asked me how long we had been standing in the line, and when I didn’t answer, the French guy standing behind us answered say\ng “it’s been about 25 minutes.” Directly after that, there were people walking down the Fast Past lane, and a woman stopped and asked if any of the people in our line were in a group of two. Taylor and I said “we are!” and she handed us two extra Fast Passes that she had. We couldn’t believe our luck as we jumped out of the loser line and walked into the fast lane.

A kid from Long Island talked to us, and, oddly enough, he attends a high school there that I know all of my brother’s friends from college attended and I wrote a story centered around for a Creative Writing assignment. It’s weird how things connect.

Anyway, the Rock ‘n’ Rollercoaster? Awesome. I have ridden many roller coasters since my first one last April (sounds crazy that I went 15 years without riding one, I know), and this one is definitely among the top five or so. We wandered around and watched the car stunt show (also awesome) then sprinted and wove our way through the maze of people to make it to the Indiana Jones show that I had only seen on TV and in movies.

After that, we went on a tour through the world’s classic movies and then hit the Tower of Terror. It was freaky, I’ll give them that, but it was too short to be all that enjoyable. It seemed like we only went up and down a few times before we landed for good. It was scary, but a little disappointing.

But, it’s tonight that has totally taken over my mind. We ate at Fulton’s Crabhouse (expensive and ritzy!) before setting off for La Nouba. Now, throughout the time we have spent here in Disney, I have seen countless posters advertising La Nouba, but honestly had no idea what it was. I knew that it was a circus-type bit, but had no idea just how amazing it is. We watched it tonight. I am still amazed.

I want to be the bird that I have seen on every poster. I feel like I COULD do it. She was adorable and did these cute little funny bits that I found hilarious. It was like a blast from the past for me. In seventh grade, I played Gertrude McFuzz, and the bird in La Nouba seemed like she could be Gertrude’s sister. The only time she was really involved in acrobatic stunts was when she joined in on the trampoline-jumping, and then she only did a few (okay, a lot more than a few) back flips. I can do that. And I want to. I decided that I am going to go to college and become that bird. Of course, I’m kidding, but isn’t it okay to dream? To be able to dress up and look that cute and act that cute every day sounds like such an awesome job. I’m sure I could do it.

Anyway, all of La Nouba was amazing. I’m still gushing about it and I’m sure that tonight I’ll dream about Gertrude and the bird. In the very near future, I am purchasing a La Nouba shirt so I have a reminder of my flitty little dream. It’ll never come true, but it’s not a crime to dream.

La Nouba
Leave a Reply

