2/16/10

Yesterday was my brother’s 21st birthday. My family went out to Ellicottville Brewing Company for supper and a few drinks their newly legalized son/brother/friend. While this was all going on in snowy Western New York, I was in sunny Florida, soaking up water and sun at Disney’s Typhoon Lagoon. It wasn’t like “OH MY GOSH IT’S SOOO WARM OUT!” but it was definitely warmer than the weather we left behind in Buffalo. The sun was beautiful, and when we would lie down on a lounge chair and soak up a few rays, it felt like a summer day.

You’d think I’d learn from the experiences with the sun I have had in the past, but of course I didn’t and I never will. My friend and her mom are Filipino and tan very nicely whereas her father and I do not. We’re white as white can be, and even he, who slathered on the sunscreen, got burnt to a crisp in places. But of course, none of us realized how burnt we were until we got back to our villa.

Taylor (my friend) and I ran around in our bikinis to the pool (where we got tossed around by the giant wave and had a blast) and then took a ride down the Lazy River with a bunch of German kids. After that, we hit every ride in the water park. The Crush N’ Gusher water coasters were our favorites as well as the water slides we went down. We laughed at stupid girls that screamed at the littlest things and were intrigued by the Europeans/South Americans and their thong-like bathing suit bottoms. The Speedos creeped us out a bit and we avoided men wearing those as well as the very hairy men walking around. I saw enough hairy men yesterday to last me a lifetime.

The day before, we had gone to the Magic Kingdom and walked around the park for hours. We thanked our lucky stars that we had gotten a Fast Pass for Space Mountain hours before our time to ride it. We walked through the Fast Pass line and got stared at by envious people standing in the stand-by line. We watched a show featuring Peter Pan, Wendy, Donald, Goofy, Mickey, Minnie, Daisy, Captain Hook, Smee and Maleficent before walking out of the park and getting interrupted by a character parade featuring a song from one of the High School Musicals that for some reason I seemed to know. But, back to Typhoon Lagoon.

So, we laid out and ate hot dogs and got ice cream, and it wasn’t until we got back to our villa that I realized just how much the sun had damaged my skin. My back and shoulders are badly burnt along with my chest, but it was all so worth it. At least I can go back to school and when people say “Hey, nice sun burn!” I can say: “Hey, at least I GOT sun!” That ought to shut them up.

Today was ventured over to Epcot, and though a lot of walking was involved, it was one of the coolest places I have ever been to. We “traveled around the world” and visited every country they had to offer us. In China, I bought myself a pretty butterfly ring and plan on buying more rings in the very near future. In Germany, I purchased some German chocolate and just finished it a few moments ago. When we went to Japan, I happened upon a bonsai tree grow-it-yourself kit, so I bought it for my brother’s 21st birthday. I remember him saying something about wanting one but knew my mother would never be able to find one for him. I think it’ll be worth it when I see the look on his face.

I found soap in France with the fragrance of Lilies of the Valley; the flower that happens to be my mother’s and my favorite. So, I bought it for her. I can’t wait for her to open it. I wasn’t planning on buying things for everyone in my family, but I find myself finding the perfect things for my family, so I figure I might as well purchase them. I’ve aready bought myself two necklaces, the ring, a hoodie and a keychain, I’d say I’m almost set. I just want a cell phone charm, a bag and some hair clips and then everything on my list is checked off. I need to find something for my youngest older bro yet (I bought my oldest bro a Nemo antenna topper) and maybe something for my dad. But, I never find anything for my dad no matter where I go; I guess I’ll just have to buy him what everyone else does: a mug.

Leave a Reply

