Life lessons

Everyone always says that you don’t know what you have until it’s gone. Well, I had a real-life experience with this yesterday. (Not a serious one, mind you, but one that the Big Guy upstairs probably threw at me as a reminder.)

I had a math test the period before lunch, and I was the last one to leave the room after the bell rang. I made my way to lunch, took my place in line after entering the cafeteria, grabbed myself a chocolate milk and then received the “holiday” pizza they were serving that day then promptly picked the red and green peppers off.

I sat down, took a bite or two and then reached over for my milk. Normally, it’s supposed to look like this:

But, it didn’t. Instead, it looked like this:

I was dumbfounded. There was no arrow for me to look for to know where to open it. Suddenly, I was hurled into a world where nothing was what I was used to. Okay, that was an exaggeration, but you get my point.

I panicked. I twirled my milk around time after time, just looking for that precious arrow. But, there wasn’t one. I had to look in a place I’d never had to before to know where to open it.

It just hit me hard because it’s an example that shows that you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone. I definitely didn’t.

One thought on “Life lessons

  1. I saw the same thing. Now do you see why I say too many coincidences?
    (I am pretty damn sure shadow doesn’t know and you cannot edit time as far as I’m aware)

    anywho

    feeling like we are truly all in this together

Leave a Reply

