I’m a global deejay

Two days ago I was shocked at myself. While shuffling through my iTunes song by song, I noticed that many of the songs that I passed by had NEVER been played. I thought to myself, now, what’s the point in having all of these songs if I don’t even take the time to listen to every single one of them? And sure, quite a few of them (well, more than quite a few of them) were contributions from my older brothers, but I still feel bad for having them in my iTunes when I’ve never even listened to them, so for the past couple of days I have been going through and trying to listen to every single one. Note: I have listened to most of them, just not on my computer where it keeps track of how many times I’ve listened to them.

I started with 845 songs in my playlist called “NEVER PLAYED.” Now, two days and 132 songs later, here I am with 713 (almost 712) left for my ears to listen to.

I have had to listen to artists that I have never even heard of or just have never listened to before. Among these were The Fratellis, Metallica, AC/DC, The Offspring (which I’ve never been fond of), Eminem, Lil’ Wayne, Trapt, Phoenix, Soundgarden, Global Deejays, Children of Bodom, The Ramones, Goldfinger, Dave Matthews Band, Michael Bolton, Parachute, Sahara Hotnights, Owl City, and Kardinal Offishall. Surprisingly, I’m finding all of this music bearable. I’ve discovered that I like The Fratellis, can tolerate Metallica, HATE AC/DC, really appreciate Eminem, and can really honestly listen to ANYTHING. This is such a good feeling since I used to be so particular about what I would listen to when I was younger.

I am now down to 711 and am currently listening to “The End of Innocence” by Jamies Elsewhere. Who knew I would ever like so much of this music?

One thought on “I’m a global deejay

  1. I’ve found myself in the same surprised state many times. Going through the songs on my iPod shuffle and seeing that I haven’t even listened to some of the songs, or that it’s been 2 or 3 months since the last time I spun it. Or there will be songs I listen to frequently, but my computer says I only listened to it once or not at all. But yeah, I know what you mean. The beauty of technology.

    šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

