I wasn’t prepared: a flood story

PART I:

Yesterday my mom and I went to our favorite mall after a night out camping. We set out with high hopes and big smiles. The sun started to shine after a long stormy night, and though I wished I would have brought my bright pink sunglasses, I was content. We met a road with water creeping across it, and we braved our way and made it to the other side victoriously. We came to another low valley and inched our way down to the water, not certain whether or not we should chance going through it. I said “oh for God’s sake mom, just go! This is fun!” So, we did. We started creepin’ our way through the high water and slow and cautiously as we could. As we’re making our way through, some hot piece of shit in a Honda barreled right through the damn water, and because my window was wide open thanks to the heat, the water the Honda barreled through rose up and came right into our car. I was soaked. Gone was my smile and good mood. Present instead was a hot, fresh pool of tears making their way out of my eyeballs and a constant frown. I couldn’t understand why someone would be so stupid and do that.

My mom sped up and tried to get right up next to him, honking her horn the entire way. She flipped him off several times and screamed “ASSHOLE”! and then he turned down a different road. We kept going straight. She kept wanting to turn around and go after him, but I discouraged that thought from the gears whirring in her brain, and we continued on our way to the mall. Using a sweatshirt from the backseat I dried off as best I could, but I was still hurt on the inside. This is a prime example of why I don’t like going out into public. Stupid people ruin my good mood. I’d much rather be in the pleasant company of my family all the time. But, that’s just me.

This was only part I of my story.

PART II:

After a successful day, we pulled into our driveway. Each of us slipped into our bathing suits (I got to try out my brand-new one) and took a quick dip in the freezing cold pool. Then we took a walk and yada yada yada. You don’t need to hear every single detail from my day yesterday.

I was on the computer for awhile, and then we heard the thunder kicking back in after being in retirement all day. A couple of the loud crackly thunderclaps was all it took to send me up to bed with hopes of falling asleep. I stayed in my parents’ room for awhile; it just seemed like the right thing to do. When Adam got home at around 1:30 AM, I got up and returned to my own room.I fell into a fitful sleep.

I woke up and tore all of the covers off of my body and then fell asleep again.

At 6:15 I heard people up and moving around downstairs in my house. I got up, knowing that I would have to get up soon anyway to meet the plans I’d made with a friend. I woke up to find that our little village where I go to school had been flooded completely. Reports were also made about a man who had been out checking around his house after the storm and had gotten sucked into the water and washed away to his death. Not pleasant things to wake up to, I’ll let you know.

AS I WAS WRITING THIS ON MONDAY, AUGUST TENTH, THE POWER WENT OFF AND I WAS LEFT IN THE DARK. WHEN POWER WAS REDEEMED, I TURNED ON MY COMPUTER AND FOUND THAT WE HAD NO INTERNET. WE DIDN’T END UP GETTING IT BACK UNTIL TODAY, FRIDAY THE FOURTEENTH.

LONG STORY SHORT…

I am related (by marriage) to the man that was “washed away.” It’s tragic, that much is certain.

The little village where I attend school is a war zone. The National Guard is there with tanks and trucks – that’s how bad it is. Everywhere I turn there is a fire truck stating the name of some town far away from here. I saw one from Scranton, Pennsylvania for cryin’ out loud. Our new Track & Field/Football facility (just two years old) is ruined. I only got to run on that track for two years…now it won’t be ready until my senior year.

Basements have been demolished. Apparently at least over fifty houses in our tiny village have been condemned. The reservoir has been damaged almost beyond repair. The people in town can’t use water to clean up all of the mud and debris; they need to conserve it as much as possible.

Going down there is like entering another world. It’s perfectly fine up here; we’ve had the nicest weather this week than we have had all summer, and everyone in the valley is spending their vacation time shoveling piles and piles of muck and mud. The dust is unbearable from all of the wet mud that dried up.

From now on I’ll ride my bike through town and see empty lots where houses used to be. I wasn’t prepared for this.

101_0594101_0627101_0606

^None of this is supposed to look like that. 😦

2 thoughts on “I wasn’t prepared: a flood story

  1. AHHH!!! The flood!! It’s horrible to go downtown and see all of the devastation. Right now I’m babysitting at Aldrich St. Well actually right now I’m just messing around on a computer talking to you, haha. KATIE TRANK SAYS HOWDY!!!!

    Anyway, it’s sad to see the track, I hate going by it. It’s like a car accident, every time that I go past it I can’t help but look :(.

    1. Yeah…and I feel like I should be helping, but part of me thinks I just don’t belong. So, I stay up here in my peaceful quiet dreamland up on a hill.
      HI TRANK! 🙂

      Yeah…I look every time and it is so depressing. I hate this!]
      The town definitely looks better, though.

Leave a Reply

