Someday monkey won’t play piano song

If you don’t already know, I am a huge fan of The Beatles. Listening to their music is like traveling back in time. I can Imagine myself wearing bell bottom pants and listening to their records with friends. I would probably have had crazy curly hippie hair that makes me look like I’m a Dizzy Miss Lizzy. I really should have been a kid back when my parents were kids. I probably would have fit in better.

When I’m making dinner or cleaning the kitchen, what do I do? I click on my playlist called “Oldies” and Let It Be. Mixed in with The Beatles (A LOT of The Beatles) is Cheap Trick, Foreigner, The Knack, REO Speedwagon, Simon & Garfunkel, Styx, Supertramp, Triumph and Yes. This collection of Oldies is NOTHING compared to what I have up in my room. I have piles and piles of old records that I dug up from our basement. Instead of make-up on the shelf at my mirror table-thing, I have a row of probably 50-100 records (and they are organized in alphabetical order, of course!). All of these are the ones I listen to. There are even more beneath this shelf in my record player’s box. Those are the ones I have yet to let my ears listen to. It’s getting better all the time.

Before I listened to this music, I knew absolutely nothing about it. So, when I was little and watched an episode of The Powerpuff Girls (which I have on tape) entitled “Meet The Beat-Alls,” the only reference to The Beatles that I recognized was when Blossom yelled out “Hey, Jude!” Now I watch that episode and pick up on nearly every Beatles reference hidden inside. My favorite one? When Mojo Jojo robs the bank with The Beat-Alls and says “Give me money – that’s, what I want.”

The references are endless. Nearly every Beatles song is incorporated somehow. “I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends,” “Michelle,” “Hello Goodbye,” “Nowhere Man” and “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” are only a few of the many mentioned. When I was little I didn’t quite appreciate the genius behind this episode of The Powerpuff Girls. I am finally able to totally and completely recognize and decipher every hint.

All I need is love, and I absolutely love The Beatles. I wish I could have had the opportunity to see them live in concert. Here is part of that episode:

Here is the whole episode for people that won’t recognize the references:

One thought on “Someday monkey won’t play piano song

Leave a Reply

