For(n)ever

The word “forever.” What an overused word. Nobody knows the concept of forever. Nobody knows where forever is or how long forever is going to take. “This is going to take forever!” Yeah, doubt it. What a stupid hyperbole.

I can sort of understand if two people believe that they are going to be together “forever” if they are united in holy matrimony, but Divorce can still but its ugly head in there and Devour that useless forever. Forever is a hard word to comprehend, so why do people use it so often? Nobody knows the true meaning!

Teenagers are stupid. When it comes to relationships, they overuse this silly seven-letter word. (Yes, I am a teenager. I, however, am not stupid.) If someone can break your heart once, chances are they are capable of doing it again. Surely it would be a mistake to assume that the second time around is going to “last forever!” That’s just setting yourself up for heartbreak. Once that “forever” isn’t met, someone is left heartbroken. Assumptions lead to disappointment. Your aunt and uncle may have been high school sweethearts, but times have changed. There are far more fish in the sea.

I’m not dissing high school relationships. I’m dissing the stupid kids that think that they have found “the one” when their “significant other” is the only one they have ever met or fallen in “love” with. How do you know a person is The One when they have been the only one? I am a practical person. I care for my boyfriend with all of my heart, but I know not to assume that in ten years I’ll still be with him. I’m in high school. In two years, I’ll be facing my last summer as a real kid. In two years, no matter where he and I are in our relationship, we will most likely part ways. Until that time comes, I’m going to spend all of my free time with him; my best friend and my boyfriend. I can’t expect a “forever.”

I don’t know everything about everything, I’m just tired of people that seem to think that they do. I’m tired of people that talk about this concept of forever like they’re experts. None of us are; none of us ever will be. You can’t expect a “forever” when nobody even knows what this “forever” is.

One thought on “For(n)ever

  1. forever…… you can’t wrap your mind around it, thats the beauty of it. Its a surprise; a journey and you have no ficken clue whats going to happen. Teens are very dumb for the most part, they use they’re emotions to determine everything. Emotions can change in a day or two, so they will not have a forever if its all on emotions.
    Love…. what is love?? really we have no clue, also that is the beauty of it again. Love is something that can be amazing, it can change the world i believe, but we don’t understand it and we never will to its full extent. people overuse this word also. just watch the disney channel and you’ll see with every relationship on the shows, they say i love you and then kiss. (sorry i suck at wording this right lol) but they teach kids to say it when you are in a relationship and start to feel some emotions. so now everyone thinks they know what it is by the age of ten. or look at taylor swift, she sings about it in almost every song, but does she even know what it is? its a common word to use, people just throw it around so it losses its value. it sucks. but i do believe in true love, idk why but i do. i think times haven’t changed (aunt and uncle thing). like technology has changed and we think we are a lot different but love always stays the same. it never changes with time. so i think it is possible, very very very rare, but possible. its not for every relationship… not at all, but i believe in true love.

Leave a Reply

