Dear Adam,

It’s April 25, 2009. Happy eighteenth birthday! I regret not being here at home to keep you company, but I had places to go and people to beat. I guess I’m writing this because we don’t really talk about “things” anymore…or maybe we never did. Oh well, I’m writing this for you now.

You might have had fun at the meet today with Dad and me, but I’m sure you wouldn’t have wanted to be outside in the ghastly heat all day watching your little sister run around an oval. Believe me, I’m totally cool with that. I avoid as many baseball games as I can (no offense). So, we’re on the same page really.

I feel bad that I sort of “stole dad away” from you today. I know it wasn’t my fault or anything (I can’t help that he likes to stand around in the blistering heat to watch me run) but I still felt kind of bad. I mean, I had dad to myself all day today… and you were at home alone either enjoying yourself or dying a slow and boring death from lack of contact with anybody. I wish this could have been the special day for you that it was kind of supposed to be, you know? Sure, you said that you don’t care that you were home alone all day, but I know better than to believe that. C’mon. Today was your birthday. Your eighteenth birthday, for cryin’ out loud. I’m sorry that we didn’t do anything to celebrate that today.

Well, now that this letter full of apologies has swallowed you whole, I’d like to add something else: thanks for being a great big bro. You’ve done many things over the last eighteen years. You’ve crashed a car (and not recently at all, I might add), you taught your little sister how to swear, you barked like a dog at past birthday parties, and you’ve always made everyone around you laugh. You almost gave mom a heart attack in church that one day when you took the “wine” cup holders and held them up to your eyes. She was laughing so hard, I swear, she was going to pee her pants (unless she did and she just never told us…). You’ve gone from my buddy to my bodyguard and I have appreciated both (much as the older-brother-equals-little-sister’s-bodyguard annoys the H-E-double-hockey-sticks out of me).

I don’t know what it’s like to have a younger sibling, but I’m sure it’s rather annoying, so I apologize for that. You’ve taught me so much, protected me so much, and loved me so much that I don’t even know how to thank you. So, I’m writing this letter. You’ll probably never read it, but here it is anyway. I couldn’t think of any other way to express what you mean to me. When mom or Jordy happen upon this and show it to you, you’ll know that I know that today meant a lot to you, even though you didn’t show it.

Love,

Emily

Leave a Reply

