I’m a GEEK, I’m a weirdo

I am a true choir geek. I am definitely not ashamed to admit it.

I take my Chamber Choir folder home with me every day. Every day. It’s been awhile since it has been left in its slot to spend the night. When I get bored or when I am feeling slightly ambitious, I take out my folder and practice my music. I have the French down pat in “the French piece,” the notes down in “True Light,” and often go over “Bogoroditze Dievo” just to hear the gorgeous alto part.

I sing in my room. I sing in the shower. I sing in the hallway. I sing during track practice. When I am getting changed in the locker room, guess what I do? What a stupid question to ask – you already know the answer. My friend and I just got a piece on Wednesday, and I already have all of the notes and words memorized. There is a spot or two that he and I need to clear up, but that will all be taken care of on Monday. Today was one of those days where I felt ambitious. I took out my music, went through almost all of the pieces, and then tackled trouble spots with my flute in hand. (My flute. My flute. A silver instrument I hadn’t touched in months until I touched it today – yes, the case was rather dusty.)

Give me a random piece of music and I will be able to tell you what key it is in and be able to go into the solfege right away without writing it in. I look forward to period 9/10 every day. I also look forward to those days when I am alone at home, that’s when my true voice really shines. My dogs and kittens are the only audience I have for those special performances.

Last year chorus was absolutely unbearable (of course, the seating arrangement I am in right now in Chamber Choir is killing me way down deep, but hey, I’m not one to complain XD). This year has been a total learning experience. Maybe it’s just that I am paying more attention, or maybe it’s because of the new teacher we have this year. *shrugs* How am I to know? (I’m leaning towards the second choice.)

One thought on “I’m a GEEK, I’m a weirdo

Leave a Reply

