My friend Gemma Doyle

You know what? Forget Twilight. Forget New Moon. Forget Eclipse. And FORGET Breaking Dawn.

Take those books off of your bookshelf and shove them in the nearest trash can. (Sure, I enjoyed them a little, but not as much as I thought I would.)

Now, go to the nearest Barnes & Noble or Borders and pick up copies of the Gemma Doyle trilogy. Place said trilogy on your shelf where Twilight used to take up space, and take them down one by one to devour them. Join red-headed Gemma in her travels, her curiosity, her love and her troubles. Erase Bella Swan and Edward Cullen from your mind and replace them with Gemma and Kartik. Befriend Ann, Felicity and Pippa and travel with the three of them to the realms to frolick in the garden or take a ride with Gorgon. Find out who Circe is, find out who your friends are, and who your enemies are. Ignore the Rakshana’s requests and continue employing your magic.

I finished The Sweet Far Thing last night, and was struck in awe (well, awestruck). It wasn’t the ending I was hoping for, but strangely, it fit nicely. Libba Bray is far more talented and descriptive than Stephenie Meyer is in Twilight and the other novels. C’mon! Who doesn’t love an author who puts “She has never lived in the Victorian era, is not British, and has no superpowers, though if she did they would involve being able to eat her weight in Swedish fish without feeling the urgent need to shave her tongue afterward” in the ABOUT THE AUTHOR section? Bray’s ideas are fresh and original. If you do not love her, you must be mad.

Anyway, have someone pry Twilight out of your hands and read and remember A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels, and The Sweet Far Thing. Instead of viewing that ghastly Twilight movie, read! I get angry if somebody compares Twilight to Harry Potter, but if one were to compare Gemma Doyle to Harry Potter, I actually would not mind. Nothing will ever beat HP, but I believe that Gemma comes pretty close.

3 thoughts on “My friend Gemma Doyle

  1. Okay so I’ve heard of The Gemma Doyle series on Shelfari, though never taken the time to find out what they are about. Reading this review/rant of yours I decided I might give them a try. At my next stop back to Barnes and Noble I’ll think about purchasing myself a copy… maybe.
    Though Twilight will still have a special place in my heart (but I do agree they cannot compare to Harry Potter).

  2. Haha! That was very persuasive of you. 🙂

    But you’re right. The Gemma Doyle trilogy is really intriguing and I couldn’t put the books down. I’m glad I discovered Great and Terrible Beauty two years ago in Borders. If not, I’ll be just another sad kid being swayed away by HP and Twilight.

    Oh, I do hope Ms Bray will continue writing, hopefully more about young girls in the Victorian era.

    Here’s my review of the Sweet Far Thing!

Leave a Reply

