Service available until midnight

From seven-thirty in the evening to 12:00 midnight yesterday, I was locked up in a house with two little girls. Now, maybe I shouldn’t use “locked up” because I felt nothing like how I felt when I babysat my terror of a cousin. No, these girls were little angels compared to my cousin and her little sister. Nobody was bossing ME around, and instead of begging for food all the time, the eldest kept wanting to play games and color and watch movies. Easy as cake.

I learned that three-year-olds are, in fact, tolerable, some six-year-olds aren’t as terrible as the rest of them, and that Hannah Montana is wayyyy too popular among youngsters. The cartoon version of the Eloise books are as cute as the actual movie with that adorable little girl, the people who make up preschool kid shows must be wanting them to learn Spanish (ex: Handy Manny, Go Diego Go!, and Dora The Explorer) and I am now out of the loop when it comes to Disney Channel (I didn’t know that those twins on that one show had gotten so big!). I learned never to believe a thing that the six-year-old said to me, the game Elefun is not fun unless there are batteries inside it, and nail polish bottles should be made childproof. I saw The Wiggles for the first time, and yes, it’s a great way for young kids to exercise and dance in front of the TV, but those four men gave me the creeps. I am sure that they probably are made of money because of this show, but the whole time we were watching it, I just wanted to say: “you know what they are really saying, right? Between every song they are probably saying: IhatemylifeIhatemylifeIhatemyjobIhatemyjob….” but obviously, I couldn’t. Their mouth movements did not even match up with the singing…I am sure that if this show had been out when I was little I would have adored it, but right now I don’t. The Wiggles definitely scared me.

It was a fun (and tiring) night. We played in a sink full of bubbles (and got soaked, I might add), made smoothies, played Polly Pockets and had fun with their Furr-Real friends (the giant horse and the cute little kitty). As for the TV shows we watched…. I think I will stick with my SpongeBob.

Leave a Reply

