I can tell by the stands

I knew that I had a lot of work to make up when I got back in school today, but I didn’t know how overwhelmed I would be. Along my journey through the hell that is today, I found that we have a Spanish test and an Earth Science test tomorrow. Spanish should not be too bad (besides the fact that we have a monster of a substitute), but Earth Science is a subject I am doomed to fail.

Right now I should be in Mr. Reeves’ classroom to make up a Geometry test that I never finished, but guess what? I would much rather blog my heart out. Today I was stretched to my limit, and unfortunately I am not a rubber band that just goes back and takes its old shape.

I knew right away that today was going to be a bad day. My mother left me to decide whether or not I was going to attend school today, but I knew that I had to. We have block periods (which I totally disagree with), so missing one day of school means one is technically missing TWO days of either English or Biology/Earth Science/Chemistry/Physics. Imagine if a person misses a whole five-day week of school. Not only will that person be trying to recover from whatever kept them out of school, but they also have a mountain of homework to do.

Anyway, back to why I knew today would be a bad day. I entered the band room (late, of course because I had to wait in line at the office to hand in my excuse) and sat down in my chair. Yes, I got greetings that sounded like “she’s back!” and “good morning!” and “are you feeling better?” but that still didn’t boost my mood. I sat down and set my band folder on the stand and placed my bag onto the floor. When I tried to raise my stand up, it would not budge at all. I looked at Becca (who sits next to me) and said “well, this is going to be the broken stand that breaks off when I use more force to raise it.” Sure enough, the top of the stand popped off. I can usually tell what kind of a day I will have by the condition of the stand I am using that day in band. I got up to find a new stand, but they were all in use, so Becca and I had to share (even though we are supposed to all have our own).

English began. I handed in my essay, but did not and still do not have a very good feeling about it. We watched The Glass Menagerie and all I wanted to do was sleep.

Lunch then Spanish. It was in Spanish that I realized that I really seriously cannot hear very well. For some reason, the cold that I have settled in my ears and I can barely hear out of my left and am totally deaf in my right. I was trying to talk to a friend, but he had to keep repeating himself because he talks softly and I could not hear anything. Not fun.

With Global came my first bloody nose of the day. I tore out of the room and ran into the bathroom where I would be safe for a few minutes. I managed to stop the blood from flowing, and returned to Global. Right before Chamber Choir ended, I felt my nose running again and flew out of the room once more. I returned, the bell rang, and now here I am.

So far today has been a miserable day. Maybe cross-country practice will cure all of my agonies. (Ha, yeah right!)

Leave a Reply

