Soaked to the bone

School started a few days ago, and despite my mourning of the end of summer, I think that it will actually be okay. This week it has been all about football. Football this. Football that. Football football football. The cheerleaders wore their “cute” little uniforms to school today, and pranced around with blue and white ribbons in their hair. (I have actually tried on one of those uniforms, and let me tell you, they are definitely not cute.) The football players sauntered through the hallways with their dumb jock expressions and their ugly jerseys. The Varsity jerseys are okay, actually, it is the Junior Varsity jerseys that are messed up and ugly and stained. Yuck.

I play the flute and piccolo in our school band. Yes, I am, in fact, a band geek. Our band director told us to show up to the “big” football game at 6:45, for the game was due to begin at seven o’clock. I got home from cross country practice and lounged around for a little while, glancing nervously at the clock every now and then. I began to get ready when the time was right, and put on a white tank top (black tank top underneath), blue jeans and flip flops. I had no idea that I would be freezing my tush off for the rest of the night.

I played my piccolo along with the band every time the ref blew the whistle, and stopped when they began playing again. Pretty soon, tiny raindrops began to fall. My friend who sat beside me was chanting “It’s not going to rain! It’s not going to rain!” Let me just say that her little chant did not work.

It started pouring. I hurriedly stuffed my piccolo into its case, and ran off to join my brother and one of my very good friends. We walked around the facility and soon enough I was so soaked that I did not even care that my feet were splashing around in the puddles. I talked with friends, got told that I made a “wise” choice for wearing a white tank top, and soon my teeth were chattering so fiercely that I could not even make them stop.

All I craved was a hot shower. A nice long, hot shower to wash away all of the rain water. Right when I got home, I put my wet clothes in the washer, and enjoyed a shower. After being showered on by raindrops, it was everything I needed.

P.S. The team ended up winning. Woohoo. (Again, sarcasm.)

One thought on “Soaked to the bone

Leave a Reply

