They Say

Many books that I have read portray people that are known widely to be “popular.” Everyone in these books knows who the popular people are, and they desire to be just like them. A path is cleared for these kings and queens, and the ground kissed after their feet have deserted it. Supposedly every High School has its own popularity scale. The less popular you are, the more likely you are to be unsuccessful in life beyond the hell that is High School. Well, the authors of these books must not know about my little High School that is nestled between the hills.

At my school, popularity is a joke – or at least – I think that it is. Honestly, the “popular” people are only popular to themselves. They all think that they are on top of the world just because they wear nothing but Abercrombie & Fitch and Hollister. Now, I do not know about you, but I choose NOT to wear the crap that is name-brand clothing. No, instead I shop at less-popular stores and pick out whatever the heck I like without worrying about meeting the approval of others.

You are only popular if you wear the right clothing. One day (as a joke, I assure you) I went to a friend’s house before school and she dressed me up in the most heinously name-brand outfit. A white Abercrombie & Fitch miniskirt, a pale blue A&F lacey tank top, and a white skin-tight A&F hoodie. Every piece of clothing I was wearing was branded with a moose – the symbol of “popularity.” You would have thought that I was wearing some kind of ridiculous costume of some kind that was the source to the many stares I received that day. I tested my hypothesis, and my educated guess was proven as a fact.

My friends and I make fun of the little girls that we see entering Hollister and American Eagle for we know that they are looking for the approval of others by shopping there. The secret to fitting in and living large during your four long years of High School is about to be revealed: spend all of your money on ridiculously priced see-through shirts and forty dollar flip flops. I guarantee that you will fit in. Or, you could be like me and my friends. Wear whatever the heck you like and do not give a crap about what other people think of you. The authors of many of the books I have read these days (for example: The Clique series by Lisi Harrison) make it seem like you are not cool if you do not wear what everyone else does. Honestly, just be yourself. And if being yourself coincides with being one of those name-brand clones, so be it. You may think that you are being yourself, but my friends and I will think that you are just trying to be like everyone else.

2 thoughts on “They Say

  1. For shame, Em! So stereotypical. Tsk. I’m going to argue this with you.
    Hollister and A&F are not “popularity status symbols,” they’re clothing stores– not necessarily a way of attracting attention. I’ve asked myself the question, “Why go to a store that costs so much?” and came to this conclusion: if you have the resources to buy a pair of seventy-dollar jeans, why not get a fantastic pair that fit, and have them last longer than the ten-dollar pair you get on the on-sale rack at Deb?

    Essentially, Lisi Harrison and the other authors of “popular” novels (no pun intended, haha) are painting pictures of high school as they imagine it, not as it is. They’re creating that kind of setting so they’ll have somewhere for their novels to take place, not to illustrate some kind of fanatical monarchy based on price tags.

    In any case, despite my contrasting viewpoint here, I’m going to compliment you on your sarcasm and disdain here. I can feel it searing out of the screen of Homo at me. 😀

    ♥!

Leave a Reply

