Early Morning Fear

This morning I was rudely awakened by a huge crackling of thunder. My heart’s beat instantly sped up, and I could not seem to calm myself down. I glanced over at my clock, and the angry red digits told me that it was 4:42 in the morning. Do not get me wrong, I LOVE thunderstorms, just not the kind where the thunder sounds like it could come into my room and possibly kill me. You know, that horrible kind where it sounds like a huge piece of glass is shattering into a million little pieces.

The first thing I did was pull the covers up over my head in an attempt to drown out the awful noise. This, however, did not help in the least. After an ear-splitting eruption of thunder, I quickly got up and shut my window and the blinds before the lightning warned me of the thunder’s arrival once again. Every time the lightning flashed, I would hurriedly place my hands over my ears so that I would not let the thunder scare me like it did the first time.

Horror movies I have seen invaded my thoughts, and I found that I could no longer be calm without a light on. Every time the lightning flashed, I was sure someone would be standing over me, knife in hand. After another crackling of thunder, I quickly reached up and pushed the switch in on the lamp on my bedside table. The warm, soft yellow light instantly calmed me. This, however, did not stop the horrid thunder from scaring the bajeebers out of me every time it went off.

Finally, a solution to my problem came to me. I quickly jumped out of bed and grabbed my earbuds out of the open pocket on my purse. I then took my iPod (named Pandora) off of her home and connected the earbuds to her. I knew exactly what band was going to help me through in my time of need. I scrolled down to Panic At The Disco’s new album Pretty. Odd. and put the left earbud in my left ear. I then laid my head down so that my right ear was pressed into my pillow, blocking out any other sound that might wish to invade (the thunder). Every time the lightning flashed, I was ready to endure another crackling of thunder, Pandora by my side.

“I know it’s sad that I never gave a damn about the weather, and it never gave a damn about me.” As I listened to Do You Know What I’m Seeing? by Panic, I grew sort of nervous. Call me stupid, but I was wondering if the thunder could hear what I was listening to, and was insulted. I actually considered putting my iPod away, for fear that the lightning would enter my room and strike me. I quickly shook that thought away, for it was simply illogical.

Brendon Urie’s voice blocked out the thunder for me. I survived the early morning thunderstorm thanks to him.

2 thoughts on “Early Morning Fear

  1. ohhhhh we had a HUGE storm i enjoyed every minute of it i hope you were all right and the writing is awesome keep it up
    pyroscream

  2. I woke up because of the storm too! What was weird though is i couldn’t rember any instance of sudden recognition that it had woke me it was more like one minute i was sleeping the next enjoying the sweet sound of a mid summer shower it was eerie and cool at the same time. I probably stayed up for over an hour just listening to it. I LOVE thunder storms!!! Keep up the good wrighting!!

    ~your bf forever and always~

Leave a Reply

