Early Morning Sirens

This morning I woke up to sirens. I rolled over and groaned when I saw the time: seven o’clock in the AM. They sounded awfully close, and for the next thirty minutes or so, I thought about how I am not the only one who hears these sirens. Up in my room, I feel so isolated, but as long as I can see the sun or the moon or hear sirens that others can hear, I know that I am not alone.

Why are these extremely loud sirens going off this early in the morning and disturbing my slumber? I still do not know the answer to this question, and I am pretty sure that I do not want to know. Someone must have gotten hurt or there was an accident somewhere. But – gasp – what if it concerns someone I love?

The thing about sirens is that they always follow a bad happening. Every time I hear a siren, I think about who could be in trouble and why. To the person who could be hurt, the sirens are there to help, but to people who hear them, they are nothing but a lament. I have noticed that lately I have been hearing more sirens than usual. I have taken it as a sign: the world is coming to an end. Not now, but in the near future. 2012 – here we come.

2 thoughts on “Early Morning Sirens

  1. your a very good writer keep it up i dont think i could EVER write like that…………………..remember to look on the bright side of life
    pyro scream

Leave a Reply

