Oxymorons

Today I decided to lay out in the sun for awhile. Not because I wanted to get super tan (I really do not see the point in changing the color of one’s skin, and I will never pay to go tanning), but because the sun was so appealing. I changed into my bathing suit, and approached the diving board, preparing to jump in just so the sun could have something to make evaporate.

I splashed into the cool, turquoise pool, and surfaced gasping for breath. It is not a good idea to swim with gum in your mouth, let me tell you. My feet touched the solid bottom of the shallow end, and I slowly walked over to the stairs. It is funny how you don’t feel just how cold the wind is until you are totally wet. I felt like someone was up in the sky purposely blowing cold air on me, attempting to dry me off. I lay down on the lounge, and closed my eyes, enjoying the gentle warmth of the sun. The wind continued to blow, but the sun continued to shine.

After my mother got off the phone (she was outside talking on it for almost three hours), she went inside, and then all was quiet except for the raging wind. I got up to lean the back of the lounge back further so I could lay down on my stomach, exposing my back to the relentless sun. While I was lying there, I was thinking about how it rained yesterday morning. At first it did not strike me – but then it did. A rainy Sunday. Why, that is an oxymoron!!! Now, every Sunday that it rains, I shall be thinking about that and smiling. I never really thought of it before.

I like that oxymoron, but my favorite will forever be: smart man.

3 thoughts on “Oxymorons

  1. Try again, toots. I was on the phone for exactly 124 minutes … last time I checked that’s two hours, 4 minutes. Your gentle readers will think I have the gift ‘o gab (a false truth). BTW – I LOVE your “oxymoronisms” – especially the last one! It’s fun to think up more i.e., butt head and even my user name (think about it!). See how many more you can “discover.” Have fun!
    xxoo

  2. ah, my dearest, that monday sounds like a lazy sunday. Even though it was rainy and depressing. Ha, I posted a new blog!!! Such a horribly happy dream… Yah know, one of those internal contradictions…

    jumbo shrimp
    quiet blonde
    thoughtless philospher.

    sheesh I am bad at these…

Leave a Reply

